Circulation
Borrowing Privileges
The Bishop Mueller Library extends borrowing privileges to the students, faculty, and staff of Briar Cliff University, as well as members of the general public with a library card from any library in the state of Iowa.
Loan Periods
Different items in the library are loaned for various amounts of time.
-
Curriculum books - 180 days
-
Books - 30 days
-
Movies - 3 days
-
Equipment and Laptops - 1 day or 3 days
-
Reserve items - 2 hours, 1 day, 3 days, or 7 days (the item will be clearly marked)
All items must be returned by the end of the semester. Exceptions to this policy may be made by the University Librarian or the Head of Public and Research Services.
Overdue Items
If an item is currently overdue, a patron may mot borrow additional resources.
Upon Checkout, a patron receives an email with the due date.
The patron will also receive an automatic email reminder:
-
1 day prior to the due date
-
3 days past the due date
-
10 days past the due date
-
17 days past the due date
-
30 days past the due date
If the item is returned after 30 days past due, the charge will be refunded minus a $20 fine.
After 60 days, the item is considered lost and a return will not be accepted. The patron will be charged the replacement cost for the item, plus a $20 processing fee. Patrons can settle fines and replacement costs with the Briar Cliff University Business Office.
Damaged Items
If an item is returned damaged and deemed unusable by the University Librarian or Head of Public and Research Services, the patron will be charged the replacement cost for the item, plus a $20 processing fee.
Conduct in the Library
The library strives to create an atmosphere conducive to academic work by all members of our community. To this end, it is expected that all patrons will respect each other and library employees. This includes a reasonable noise level and reducing unwanted distractions.
Basement
The basement of the library is a designated quiet study space. Voices should be restricted to a hushed tone. The Writing Center is located in the basement of the library, along with the children's literature collection, the bound journals, and A-H in the circulating collection.
First Floor and Mezzanine
The first floor and mezzanine in the library are set up to accommodate group work and individual study. Patrons are encouraged to use these spaces as meeting places. Course Mentoring (tutoring) also occurs on these levels. The first floor also houses the bestsellers, curriculum collection, J-Z in the circulating collection, and the new books, DVDs, and BluRays are available in the library lobby.
Second Floor
The second floor of the library contains TRIO and the library computer lab. Patrons are encouraged to utilize these spaces and services.
Food and Drink
The library allows food and drink throughout the building. If a spill occurs, it is the patron's responsibility to notify the library employee at the circulation desk. Patrons are expected to clean up after themselves.
Drugs, Smoking and Alcohol
Drugs, smoking, and alcohol are prohibited within the building.
Student Handbook
Students are expected to adhere to the rules and guidelines outlined in the student handbook at all times, including in the library.
Public Use of the Library
Bishop Mueller Library works to encourage the Briar Cliff Community to collaborate, create, access, and share. As part of the Enrich Iowa Program the library welcomes the public and Iowa residents to simply use their local library card to access resources. Library hours are posted to the website.
Computing Resources
The computers in the building may be used by members of the public, if they are not currently needed by Briar Cliff University students, faculty, or staff. Public patrons may connect to the Guest Wi-Fi network on their personal devices or request to use a desktop computer.
Borrowing of Materials
Public patrons may borrow materials from the library with a public library card from elsewhere in the state of Iowa. The loan terms are subject to our regular policy.
Confidentiality
The Bishop Mueller Library believes in the right of all patrons to access information without stigma, judgment, or prejudice. The library recognizes that libraries have a responsibility to protect the privacy of our users, as stated in the American Library Association's Code of Ethics: "[librarians]" protect each library user's right to privacy and confidentiality with respect to information sought or received and resources consulted borrowed, acquired, or transmitted." This level of privacy is essential to the free exercise of First Amendment rights and protection of academic freedom.
To this end, information sought or received, materials consulted, borrowed or acquired, database search records, reference interviews, interlibrary loan records, computer use records are considered confidential. They will only be released if requested lawfully by a law enforcement officer, as mandated by the USA Patriot Act. Such requests will be forwarded to the University Librarian and only responded to after conference with counsel. To date, such a request has not been made.
Questions regarding our confidentiality policy should be forwarded to the University Librarian at (712) 279-5451.
Computer Lab Reservation
The Computer Lab may be reserved by faculty and staff of Briar Cliff University for teaching and university business by contacting the Head of Public and Research Services. The library requests three days notice to best accommodate possible needs.
Filming & Photography
Any individual or organization wishing to take video or pictures in the library for official usage, must first consult with the University Librarian. Should the request require, the University Librarian will confer with the Marketing Department.
