Archives: Finding Aids

Academics Collection

Materials related to academics at Briar Cliff College and Briar Cliff University. Materials include information about majors and minors, academic talks and presentations, and other academic related materials. Materials do not include faculty specific information, course catalogs, or university wide accreditations.

Advancement & Alumni Collection

Materials from the offices of University Advancement and University Relations pertaining to alumni clippings, fliers, periodicals, program brochures, photographs, and other materials related to graduates of Briar Cliff College and Briar Cliff University from 1930 to the present.

Anniversaries Collection

Materials and meeting minutes detailing the planning process and events for university anniversary ceremonies.

Athletics Collection

Materials documenting the history of women’s and men’s athletics and sports teams and clubs throughout the history of Briar Cliff College and Briar Cliff University from c. 1930 to the present.

Briar Cliff Review Collection

Materials pertaining to Briar Cliff College and Briar Cliff University’s literary magazine, “The Briar Cliff Review” from 1989 to 2023, including copies of the magazine and related materials.

Buildings & Grounds Collection

Materials documenting design, construction, and maintenance of campus buildings, equipment, and grounds of Briar Cliff College and Briar Cliff University (Sioux City, Iowa) from c.1930 to present.

Commencement & Graduation Collection 

Commencement-related materials including graduation ceremonies for undergraduate, graduate, and special groups from Briar Cliff College and Briar Cliff University from its opening in 1930 to the present.

Course Catalogs Collection 

Materials related to course catalogs for undergraduate, graduate, summer, and special courses for Briar Cliff College and Briar Cliff University from 1930 to present. Materials also includes course schedules and other related materials.

Events & Programs Collection 

Materials related to events and programs held at Briar Cliff College and Briar Cliff University, not including academic specific events and programs.

History (General) Collection 

Materials related to the history of Briar Cliff College and Briar Cliff University. Materials include images, historical write-ups, and other materials related to the general history of Briar Cliff.

Marketing & Publications Collection 

The Marketing Department at Briar Cliff College and Briar Cliff University has created various forms of marketing and promotional materials throughout the years.

Presidents Collection 

Materials related to the professional lives and administrations of former and current Briar Cliff College and Briar Cliff University Presidents from c. 1930 to present.

Scrapbooks Collection 

Clippings, historical information, and images related to Briar Cliff College and Briar Cliff University students, faculty, staff, and campus life.

Sisters of Saint Francis Collection 

Published and unpublished materials related to the Sisters of St. Francis at Briar Cliff College, Briar Cliff University, and Mount St. Francis in Dubuque, Iowa.

Students Collection 

Published and unpublished materials, programs, event information, and posters created by or for the students at Briar Cliff College and Briar Cliff University.